Movie Mention: Hugo

Hugo is one of those I-don’t-know-how-I-missed-it movies. I saw the preview and loved the film’s look, its steampunk sensibility.  Add Martin Scorsese, Ben Kingsley and Sacha Baron Cohen, and I have no clue why I didn’t see this in the theater.

Anyhow, Hugo is a charming and gorgeous film.  Set in early 1930s Paris, it tells the story of an orphan who lives in a train station, stealing food to survive and always staying one step ahead of the station master (Sacha Baron Cohen, who steals every scene.)

Hugo runs afoul of a toy maker (Ben Kingsley) while stealing parts to repair his late father’s final project — the Automaton, a clockwork-driven mechanical man.  As Hugo and the toy maker come to an accord, Hugo realizes the old man is more than he seems.  And together, they may help each other resume their purpose in a vast, mechanized, lonely world.

 

3 thoughts on “Movie Mention: Hugo

  1. I wanted to see it, too, and just never got there. Usually, if my Dad doesn’t want to see it, I don’t end up seeing it. I’m glad to know it will be worth it, whenever I get to!

  2. We just watched it this weekend and LOVED it. I actually read the book with my young boys and we knew we wanted to see it. Alas, during Christmas break, they chose Arthur Christmas (snore) instead of Hugo to see on the big screen. What a fantastic visual telling of this story. Dare I say that it is THE BEST adaptation of a book I’ve ever seen? That it might even be slightly *better* than the book with the added elements of the station inspector’s budding romance and the lovely elements of the other folks in the train station? Those little moments really fleshed out the story and made it come to life for us.

  3. I want to see Arthur Christmas (I think some dude named McAvoy does the main character’s voice) but Hugo was truly amazing. I don’t know anything about Paris or French culture, but I thought Cohen’s character had some moments of wonderfully British humor. Especially the scene where he is trying to chat up the florist, and his leg brace squeaks. Embarrassed, he utters, “I was injured in the war. It will never heal. Goodbye,” in an adorable monotone. Not sure if that is French, but it is quintessentially British.

What Do You Think?

