My London Trip, Part One

Hi, all!

High time I got back into blogging regularly. As I mentioned before, I took a whirlwind trip to London in March to see James McAvoy in MACBETH, onstage in London’s West End. For various reasons, my dear friend Rosemary O’Malley and I could only stay for 2 days. Still, we had the time of our lives, and can’t wait to return. Here are a few photos:

London 62

Rosemary took that great shot of the London Eye. I realize it’s pricey (we paid about $47.00 USD each) but it was stunning. The view from the Eye is simply remarkable: Big Ben, Houses of Parliament, Canary Wharf, Tower Bridge, and much more. Worth every penny to us.

London 51

Above is a shot I took while riding the Eye. You can see the reflection in the glass to the bottom right.

London 23

Me having a cuppa in Caffe Concerto in Piccadilly. (Where DS Bhar interviewed Thora and Griffin in Something Blue.)

London 26
The marquee for Jamie Lloyd’s Macbeth, which must have been commissioned far in advance. In the actual show, James has a full beard for a sort of wild Scot look. The reviews, which were gushing, called him a “Mad Mac.”

London 27
Ah, waiting outside the stage door for an autograph. First time in my life I’d ever done such a thing. I felt like a kid again.

London 73

Here’s Rosemary with the man himself. My picture turned out … disappointing. And as my gift to you, I’ll complain no more about it.

More pictures and a sneak look at Black & Blue (Lord & Lady Hetheridge #4) as soon as possible!

18 thoughts on “My London Trip, Part One

  1. I feel very lucky. Here’s what surprised me as an American. When he was done signing autographs, and thanking us, and visiting with the drama students, he said good night and … walked home. I was expecting an entourage or whatever. Nope, he just turned around and started for home. I was so impressed, not just by his humility, but by the fact no one screamed after him, or followed him, or did anything to cross the line. All the fans were polite and let him go to a well-deserved rest. It was lovely.

  2. It looks like you had an amazing time, I can’t imagine fitting all that into two days. I keep planning trips to London and they keep getting delayed, hopefully it will happen soon. And yay, Black and Blue sneaks!

  3. Looks like so much fun! I am jealous @.@ Love the Mad Mac nick name 😀
    Did you hook up with any British authors by any chance?

What Do You Think?

