Oh, The Places I’ll Go, or: London Sights

So, I’m taking a break from working on Black & Blue (Hetheridge #4) to post a few pictures and facts. My London trip isn’t till March 2015, but hey, it’s never too early to start obsessing.

Golden Hinde Galleon

Golden Hinde Galleon

I look forward to seeing the Golden Hinde, a full-size replica of the ship Sir Francis Drake used to circumnavigate the globe in the sixteenth century. I’ve been on such tours before (the USS Constitution, or “Old Ironsides,” and a replica of the Santa Maria) and never fail to enjoy it. Maybe I have a seafarer’s soul.

© Tonybaggett | Dreamstime.com - Madame Tussauds Photo

© Tonybaggett | Dreamstime.com – Madame Tussauds Photo

Madame Tussaud’s doesn’t look like much from the exterior, and it’s supposed to be expensive and touristy, but I still think I’ll go. Below are a couple of the people I’ll see:

ID 33935398 © Warczakoski | Dreamstime.com

ID 33935398 © Warczakoski | Dreamstime.com

© Cugianza84 | Dreamstime.com - Patrick Stewart At Madame Tussauds Photo

© Cugianza84 | Dreamstime.com – Patrick Stewart At Madame Tussauds Photo

© Arim44 | Dreamstime.com - Winston Churchill\'s Britain At War Museum Photo

© Arim44 | Dreamstime.com – Winston Churchill\’s Britain At War Museum Photo

I was disappointed to learn (today!) that I can’t visit the Winston Churchill Britain at War Museum. It closed last year. But the collection has been sent elsewhere and I may be able to view most of it at other venues. The Imperial War Museum will be open, of course, and the underground “war rooms.”

4 thoughts on “Oh, The Places I’ll Go, or: London Sights

  1. I’m frankly envious! I count my UK trip as one of the best times of my life, and keep trying to figure out how I can go back again. 🙂 Looking forward to hearing about your trip!

  2. I was fortunate to be able to visit London last May. We had a wonderful time and great weather. Our hotel was within walking distance to many historical sites (and very close to the Mews of Buckingham Palace). It was my fourth visit to London, which I consider one of the best cities in the world. I hope you have a great time.

  3. Wow, sounds amazing! I love how easy it is to get around on foot in London (with the occasionally Tube assist). Very different from where I live, where a car is necessary simply to get to the grocery store.

What Do You Think?

