Game of Thrones 6.2: “Home”

Jon Dead

This post is (obviously) loaded with spoilers and speculation. Please avert your eyes if you don’t want to know.

Back in Black  By the end of the episode, Jon is back among the living. I’ve been predicting this since he died at the end of George R. R. Martin’s A Dance of Dragonsfor a variety of reasons. Some believed this was just another colossal GRRM plot twist, like heroic Ned’s beheading or Oberyn Martell’s gruesome defeat. But I thought it was part of the classic hero’s journey as explained by Joseph Campbell and (for true story geeks) graphed below:

Hero's Journey

So Jon’s down there at 6 o’clock, with “transformation” soon to follow. Literally dying at his post has released him from that pesky Night’s Watch vow, so that’s a start. Can’t wait to see Ser Allister’s face when he beholds Jon back from the dead.

I did think Jon’s rebirth seemed a little low on shock and awe. It appeared that the Red Woman healed his wounds, but I don’t think she actually brought him back. I have a feeling Bran did it, and we’ll soon learn how. I think that’s why Ghost was asleep throughout–Jon’s soul, though still in the direwolf, was communing with Bran, who has gained tremendous power during his training. Already we see that Bran is gathering information on the Stark family and all the key details Ned left unsaid.

Lyanna Season 6

Lyanna Stark  

This episode also gave us an intriguing glimpse of the young Starks, including the enigmatic Lyanna, who Robert claimed was stolen from him by Rhaegar Targaryen. And surprise, Hodor was once Wylis, able to fight and talk. I have a feeling his backstory will illuminate Lyanna’s character. In the books, Ned said his sister had the “blood of the wolf,” so I look forward to seeing her in action. It’s also nice to put a face to the name that doesn’t look like the meme below (which is truly one of my favorite GoT gags):

Ned as Lyanna

Meanwhile, in Mereen  Another scene was the thrilling dragon release by Tyrion. I noticed a few fans of the book series were worried that this would spell the end of our favorite hero who “drinks and knows things,” but I feel certain that if and when Tyrion dies, it won’t be in a foolish fashion, like a certain peripheral book character. He showed an amazing rapport with the dragons, and great courage, too–I intially thought he was going to ask Missandei to release them, which might have made more sense. But no, he did it himself, and the dragons seemed to know him for a friend.

One of my good friends devised a very intriguing theory as to why Tyrion was so readily accepted. If this notion, like L + R = J, is in wide circulation, I missed it somehow. Maybe she’ll comment on this post and share her thoughts.

Can’t wait for the next episode. Now back to novel-writing!

Tyrion Season 6 2

2 thoughts on “Game of Thrones 6.2: “Home”

  1. The scene with Tyrion and the dragons just was so perfect. He’s really a brave man, his heart and spirit and brain so much bigger than anyone has ever given him credit for. I think he’s a Targaryen. His father was the mad king. Which is why Tywin hated him so much. At least that’s what I think.

    And I am with you. I don’t think Melisandre did diddly squat in bringing Jon back, unless she lit a beacon somehow. Maybe Bran did it, he and Ghost, like you said.

    I can’t wait for next week.

  2. Kudos to Harrington for hiding his participation in S6 so well. He lied to the press most excellently. 😉 I’m really glad he’s free of the Watch. I was getting bored with him at the Wall. We only ever saw him in heavy furs, trudging through snowdrifts. Maybe he can now take his shirt off once in a while…? Okay, kidding. What I really want to see is him meeting up with Daenerys.

What Do You Think?

