Dispatches from Cornwall, Part 1: St. Michael’s Mount

Causeway St. Michaels Mount Cornwall

The causeway to St. Michael’s Mount is revealed when the tide goes out. 

Hello! As you probably know (or can guess) I am busy with Bones #2, Divorce Can Be Deadly, so all future blog posts will be short and mostly just photos of my most recent pilgrimage to the Mother Ship–England.

One spot on my must-see list was St. Michael’s Mount, the ancestral home of the St. Aubyn family since the mid-1600s, now managed by the National Trust. I confess, I might have passed it up if I’d had any idea how difficult the steep stone path would be for me. I have no depth perception, a relatively new development I am still getting used to, and since I have no vision in the right eye, I find myself missing steps, tripping over uneven turf, and occasionally walking into things–walls, posts, and people. No doubt an extendable walking stick would have helped! (Next time.) As it was, Donna had to “sherpa” me up and down, and let me tell you, down was the worst by far. But I loved it. The gardens were spectacular and the inside of the castle and chapel were quite beautiful.

St. Michael's Mount Cornwall

This is how the causeway looked when we walked back to Marazion Beach at about 4:30 pm. We took a boat that morning when the path was still under water.

2016-06-09 12.02.12-1

One of my snapshots. (Credit: Emma Jameson, 2016)

2016-06-09 12.36.04-1

Just one of the many beautiful flowers encountered in the gardens. (Credit: Emma Jameson, 2016)

2016-06-09 13.04.58

The family cemetery. (Credit: Emma Jameson, 2016)

2016-06-09 13.59.54

Donna inspects the battlements. (Credit: Emma Jameson, 2016)

2016-06-09 14.26.31

A taste of the view. You can see why I made the effort. (Credit: Emma Jameson, 2016)

More pictures soon. Have a great Friday and a wonderful weekend.

2 thoughts on “Dispatches from Cornwall, Part 1: St. Michael’s Mount

What Do You Think?

