Dispatches from Cornwall, Part #3

Hello again. It’s Saturday and I plan to spend the weekend writing, so here’s another post that’s essentially just snapshots from my latest visit to the Mother Ship, England.

Fans of Poldark won’t be surprised to learn I spent a day at St. Agnes, which is part of the Cornish Mining World Heritage site. Because I was still recovering from surgery, I didn’t actually get to walk among the abandoned mines. (Too much of a climb.) However, I could see them, even from far below:

2016-06-05 12.34.11-1

Here’s a much better professional photo of a tin mine, purchased a couple of years ago:

Cornish Tin Mine

From my collection.

According to The Little Book of Cornwall (a book I highly recommend for Anglophiles), “Most of the national Trust’s stately homes in Cornwall were built on the profits of our mineral trade.” That declined in the 1800s and disappeared altogether in the 1900s, but one wonders if the knockers remain in those deserted shafts. To learn about the knockers, also called Tommyknockers, click here.

More of my snapshots from St. Agnes:

2016-06-05 12.50.57

My favorite view.

2016-06-05 12.34.04

A holiday cottage for rent. (Or “to let,” as I should say.)

2016-06-05 12.39.35

Entrance to a old shaft.

2016-06-05 12.53.11

Another lovely view.

2016-06-05 12.51.11-1

A dreamy version of St. Agnes as viewed by me and optimized by Instagram. 

Have a safe and happy weekend.

What Do You Think?

