Stranger Things

Today’s post will be another quick one, as I am still very deep in writing, and it’s going well. I just want to alert those of you with Netflix to a remarkable 8-part series, set in 1983, called Stranger Things. It’s kind of Firestarter meets Jean Grey of the X-Men, with a little It thrown in. I’ve heard Stephen King is a fan, and I don’t doubt it. The series owes a lot to him, and I don’t just mean his trademark, the seamless intermingling of horror and real life. Like King’s best work, Stranger Things spotlights children in an unusually believable way, provides interesting backstories to virtually all adult characters, and unfolds at a unhurried, masterful pace.

Stranger Things stars 80s staples Winona Ryder (with a haircut straight out of the movie Silkwood) and Matthew Modine, who some of you might remember as the hunk from Vision Quest. It also features several future stars, including Millie Bobby Brown as El and Gaten Matarazzo as Dustin.

That’s it. Enough from me! Go watch it.

Stranger Things Poster

2 thoughts on “Stranger Things

  1. Emma, I watched the first episode and I’m hooked. My only eye roll comes from the attempt to get the 1983 flavor. It comes off as a weird 1970s wood paneling, dark rotary phone motif. Otherwise I love it.

  2. There were some hiccups on presenting the 80s. The Bangles “Hazy Shade of Winter” came out in 1985, for one. I did enjoy Barb’s wardrobe! I hate to admit it, but some of that looked familiar.

What Do You Think?

